home….

It’s been a couple of days since I got back from home – NZ. I’m still on a high and don’t want to come down. After months and months of planning and side-stepping around conversations my family and I managed to pull of an amazing surprise for my dad’s 60th birthday. He thought he was staying up in Wanaka with my brother Ben and his family for a long weekend but little did he know my wife, my son and I were travelling over from wombat country and also my sister and her daughter down from Motueka (top of South Island of NZ). After a few hiccups and delays we had dad in shock and tears with our faces pressed up against the windows of the house we would be staying in for the next 5 days. The first time since our wedding (3+ years) we had all been together. And a fantastic chance to have my son Josh meet and spend time with his relatives.

The view from our holiday home

The view from our holiday home

And yes I did manage to get up a mountain. Just the one big one. And a couple of smaller runs. I was hoping to meet up with legend Mal Law but a mix of bad timing and lack of phone access on my part meant I ran alone. I arrived in the dark on Friday night and watched my first sunrise in NZ from atop Roy’s Peak. I’ll let the pictures do the talking. Here’s a few of my favourites – the rest are in the gallery below.

Looking back up to Roy's Peak

Looking back up to Roy’s Peak

Gorgeous

Gorgeous

Just before first light

Just before first light

Ridge trail

Ridge trail

Looking west

Looking west

Gorgeous sunrise colours on the way down

Gorgeous sunrise colours on the way down

 

1578m high with amazing view. Definitely a great start to the trip. This however wasn’t a running trip – it was all about the family so any running was going to be a bonus.

Here is a link to the Roy’s Peak run on Strava for those interested – http://www.strava.com/activities/160609517

The following day my brother Ben and I (not too hungover from dad’s party the night prior) managed to get out on the trails. Ben rode his mountain bike and I ran alongside. We had some fun at Dean’s Bank – a cross country mountain bike trail. I managed to take a few shortcuts through a lot of the switchbacks to almost keep up with him. Great little hit out but it was more worthwhile just being out with my bro. Details here – http://www.strava.com/activities/160609919. We did plan to also do a mission early the following morning up Mt Ithmus but terrible weather conditions overnight and very poor visibility meant we had to cancel our attempt.

The last morning came way too quick and I had to get out for a run. There were clear skies and I went for a trot up Mt Iron close to town. Some great views from this smaller mountain (more of a hill). Strava details here – http://www.strava.com/activities/160589685

An amazing weekend with family and friends. Waaaayyy too short but that’s all we could manage. I wish I could have travelled to my home town of Dunedin and see all my other friends but just didn’t have time and the trip was mainly for dad. We had our final goodbyes at the iconic Cardrona pub on our way to the airport. Beautiful way to finish the trip. No doubt we will be back again – hopefully sooner this time and maybe I can get a few more mountains in 😉

The iconic Cardrona Hotel

The iconic Cardrona Hotel

3 thoughts on “home….

  1. Hi Zac, a great write up about your surprise trip back to NZ .We loved having all the family together , great photos to.See you in a couple of months .
    Love Dad.

  2. A stunning review of your NZ trip and our wonderful few days at Wanaka. Memories to last forever. Photos are really spectacular and show off the beautiful Central scenery. Brucey will never forget his 60th birthday.

Leave a Reply

